top of page
Various Artists - Nothing Is Lost Vol.2 (The Easy Street Dubs)

Various Artists - Nothing Is Lost Vol.2 (The Easy Street Dubs)


WOLF Music reissue offshoot, Nothing Is Lost, strike gold again with their second release. The four track sampler cherry picks some of the greatest dub mixes to grace the legendary Easy Street label’s hall of fame, reissued and remastered.
Side A serves up two proto-house bombs dubbed out to the high heavens by the one and only Paul Simpson. Firstly, Sleeque’s sumptuous ‘One For The Money’, gets a tougher makeover with Simpson’s classic touches to the drums, echoes in all the right places and delicate splices of choice vocal refrains and piano stabs. Likewise for the A2, Simpson focuses in on that peach of a bassline from Paradise Girls – Holding Back, coupling it with Special-Intention-esque synths and cascading percussive ripples.
On the flip side, it’s a Blaze masterclass. First up, Alexander Hope (aka Josh Milan / one half of Blaze) ‘Let The Music Take You’. Produced alongside Blaze counterpart Kevin Hedge, the track gets the remix treatment from Klub Head – a further alias the two held. Honing in on the vibraphone mastery and bumping house rhythms they juice up the original with all the ethereal soul you could ever want.
Closing out the EP, a onetime collaboration between Blaze and Otis Vick, System VIII’s super soulful ‘Underground (Untouched Dub)’. Josh Milan’s exquisite and iconic vocals marry with sweet sax licks providing the perfect late night groover or, just as equally, the ultimate beachside roller.

bottom of page